Technical University Braunschweig Mathematics and Computer Science Department Computing Center

Institute of
Scientific Computing
Technical University Braunschweig

Head: Prof. Hermann G. Matthies, Ph. D.

Tel. +49-531-391-3000
Fax +49-531-391-3003

Scientific Computing is a young research area, where the technical expertise of the engineers, the numerical methods of the mathematicians, and the modern procedures and computers of the computer scientists are being used inter-disciplinary. Many scientifc questions arising in practice can only be solved cost-effectively by simulation, for which mathematical methods and algorithms must be developed. Due to the large computing power needed, vector and massively parallel machines have to be employed. To efficiently use such supercomputers specialized knowledge is needed. The institute of scientific computing provides such a know-how and solves together with practitioners from other institutes or institutions problems on parallel computers.

Lead by Prof. Hermann G. Matthies the institute of scientific computing has started its work on October 1, 1995. The research and development of algorithms for parallel computers and workstation clusters as well as the interplay between the engineering sciences, mathematics and computer science represent the central field of activity of the institute. This should favourably occur in co-operation with other practitioners and users of supercomputers.


Institute of Scientific Computing
Technical University Braunschweig
D-38092 Braunschweig
Tel. +49-531-391-3000
Fax +49-531-391-3003

Building: Hans-Sommer-Straße 65 (Computing Center) (Zip-Code 38106)


Staff and guests:

Name/Web-page: EMail: Telephone: Room:
Simone Fischer (secretary) 3000 219
Telefax 3003
Prof. Hermann G. Matthies 3001 220
Dr.-Ing. habil. Joachim K. Axmann 3010 119
Achim Casties 3008 120
Oliver Kayser-Herold 3009 115
Andreas Keese 3004 109
Markus Krosche 3007 112
Daniel Fulger 3005 118
Dr. Rainer Niekamp 3010 119
Tarin Srisupattarawanit 3008 120
Thomas-Peter Fries 3002 120
Elmar Zander 3011 105a
Dr. Jörg R. Weimar 3006 113
Dr. Josef Schüle 5542 115

Former staff and guests:

Name/Webseite: EMail:
Marcus Meyer
Gerd Anton (Studsvik Scandpower)
Christian Heimann
Doris Simon
Jan Steindorf




hardware environment

Information Sites

Andreas Keese
Last modified: